WHITE CARPET


WHAT ABOUT HAVING A PERSON SEWING A BRIDAL GOWN JUST FOR YOU?
13 May 2010, 9:32 am
Filed under: Interviews

Rosa has been a taylor for most of her life and I discovered that years ago she sewed the bridal gown for her niece, so I thought it would be nice to ask her something about the work!

There’s the interview:

  • How was born the idea?
  • Actually, it seemed stupid to us going to buy some expensive bridal gown when there was a taylor in the family! The model was suggested by a friend of mine, a modeller that had her shop in Piazza Carroccio and saw that fanciful dress on a magazine… We suddenly loved the idea and so the work started!
  • What about the material you used?
  • We bought everything from “Lorenzo Tessuti”, that was my trusted suppliers. My niece came with me to “touch”  what would be made of her future dress.
  • How much time do you need to complete the dress?
  • More or less I employed two months
  • There was an interaction between you and the model?
  • Continuosly! You know, when you are sewing a dress tailor you always want the model to try it, to see if it does fit well.
  • It was the first time that you tried your’s hand at creating a bridal gown?
  • Oh no! I did eleven bridal gowns at all, before and after my niece’s (I have a lot of relatives!) and everytime for free, so I can’t tell you a price range for them… I did one even for my sister!
  • Did you do all the work alone?
  • Absolutely! I am a little bit jealous of my professional secrets.
  • Were you satisfied of the result?
  • Of course… It was a wonderful dress, exactly how we wanted it to be!

Here there are three of the eleven dresses Rosa sewed:


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment